Follow Us

Driver Permit

Excalibur Note:Before going to take your Driver Permit test you will need Excalibur to provide you with anENROLLMENT / EXCLUSION FORM. You do not need to fill this out yourself.

From the  Alabama DMV website:

When you reach the age when it's time to learn to drive, the first step for a teen driver is the learner's license. You must be at least 15 years old to take the written exam for this license. Questions on the exam are from the Alabama Driver's Manual, so study it well.

This Class D learner's license carries a "Y" restriction, which means that you may drive a vehicle only when accompanied by a licensed driver age 21 or older who is in the front passenger seat beside you. When you turn 16, or if you were already at least 16 when you applied for your first learner's license, you can be accompanied by a licensed driver of any age.

This learner's license is valid for four years and may be renewed once. The fee is $23, plus a $5 written exam fee.

DMV.org offers you practice tests to help you study for the written exam. Study the Alabama Driver's Manual to learn driving rules, regulations, and laws. You'll want to study the road signs, too.

If you are a teen between 16 and 18 years old, you can apply for a regular driver's license after you've held the learner's license for at least six months. When you apply, you'll be required to pass a driving (road) test. Once you pass the road test, the "Y" restriction will be removed from your license for the remainder of the four-year license period. There's no additional charge for the driving test.

Alabama Graduated License Program

Alabama has a graduated license program for teens, with varying restrictions placed on licenses for teens ages 15-18. [See below: Restrictions on Licenses ]

Licenses for all drivers under the age of 21 are in a vertical format, making them easily recognizable with their red text and bold design. Pictures and signatures are now stored in a permanent digital database.

Exemptions

Graduated license rules do not apply to the following groups:

  • Individuals 18 years or older
  • Teens 17 years or older who've had a license for 6 months or more
  • 16 year olds who are married or head of household
  • Teens who have been emancipated

Get a Learner Permit in Alabama

In order to legally practice driving on the Alabama roads, all first-time drivers must pass a written exam, obtain an AL learner's license and only get behind the wheel when supervised.

If you are younger than 18, this is considered Stage I of the Graduated Driver License program. If you are 18 or older, the requirements to drive vary slightly, but you'll still want to practice behind the wheel before you take the road test. To do so, you must obtain a learner's license.

A) Ace a Few DMV Practice Tests

Take multiple online practice permit tests before you head to an Alabama DPS driver license office to take your written test. Sample test questions cover topics you’ll find on the actual learner’s permit exam. Be sure you also review the Alabama Driver's Manual.

B) Gather Required Documents and License Fees

You can apply for an AL learner’s license (also called a Stage I license) if you are at least 15 years old and can provide the Alabama Department of Public Safety with the following. Keep in mind requirements vary by age:

Learner License Requirements―15 Years Old

  • A certified U.S. birth certificate Social Security card or proof of Social Security number
  • Proof of school enrollment or graduation
  • Cash payment for the $5 testing fee
  • Cash payment for the $23 to purchase license

If the driver is 16 years old, he/she must provide:

  • Two forms of identification, 
    • including one picture ID
    • Social Security card or proof of Social Security number
  • Proof of school enrollment or graduation (Provided by Excalibur)
  • Cash payment for the $5 testing fee
  • Cash payment for the $23 to purchase license

C) Take the AL Learner’s License Exam

With your required documents and fees in hand, head to a nearby DPS Driver License Office to take your written learner's license test. Look online for the closest office to keep things simple.

Excalibur Note: Lines form early.  If you are not in line by 7:00-7:15 you may be there all day or not get in at all.  Try to avoid Huntsville DMV as it is very crowded.

Restrictions on Licenses

Alabama places the following restrictions on teen licenses:

  • Drivers who are 15 years old must be accompanied by a parent, guardian, or another driver 21 years of age or older. He/she must occupy the front seat next to the driver.
  • Drivers who are 16 and 17 years old who've had their license less than six months cannot operate a vehicle between midnight and 6 a.m. unless they are accompanied by a licensed adult, are going to/from work, school or a religious sponsored event, or driving for an emergency.
  • There should be no more than four occupants in the vehicle, excluding the supervising parent. For example, the teen driver can transport three friends and his/her parent. Violations will result in an extension of the restrictions by six months or until the driver reaches 18 years old.

Full Driving Privileges

A person under the age of 18 cannot apply for an unrestricted license until he/she has held a learner's license for six months or longer.

The student must also complete a minimum of 30 hours behind-the-wheel driving or an approved driver education course.

For more info: Alabama DMV